The Whittington Family: Ryland’s Story

Hey look, I’m reblogging. The irony. It hurts.

But seriously, I was very moved watching this. Though it truly is one of those amazing best-case scenarios where the parents actually value the happiness of their child above their own logic/expectations, it’s important that these kinds of stories are shared often with those who are totally in the dark about the “T” in LGBTQ. I’m so happy that this family took it upon themselves to create a video that can spread the joy & humanity that so many people lack in regards to those like myself who are transgender. With close to 4 million views in just a few days, I’m encouraged that this story is being spread along with many others. I just wish it didn’t seem like only the child transition stories have the power to penetrate society and change minds… Every story is different, and I’m hoping that mine will one day make a difference in someone’s life.

I personally will be emailing this video to my mum who, after ten months, is still “dealing” with my being a girl by continuing to use my birth name & male pronouns. Would you believe I have never emailed my own mum before? Please watch and enjoy~

– Nina

Kira Moore's Closet

View original post

3 thoughts on “The Whittington Family: Ryland’s Story

  1. OMG. That made me tear up! What a beautiful story (extraordinary parents they are). I hope your mom watched and got something from the video. I thought that was funny, your first time emailing her. But, this is a *GREAT* reblog!!!

    Proud of you for letting it rip. Lol.

    1. Thanks. It’s fun being self-aware of my own contractions lol~

      Glad you found it to be worth the click! My mum had nothing to say about it other than petty mundane observations that had no real drive for comprehension. I told her we can talk about it when she has something to talk about. Oh well~

      1. LOL. Continue with the reblogging – when you find something worthwhile. I promise it stings only for a second lol.

        Yes! Great reblog Nina. But I’m sorry your mom wasn’t able to take it in, yet…

Share your thoughts below!

