Hormones Speak Louder Than Words

**mouse-over any meganekko for msg**

meganeko44Found this interesting article in MSNBC Newsweek Health entitled Why Girls Will Be Girls. The article spotlights a neuro-psychologist named Dr. Louann Brizendine who has been studying the ins and outs of how the differences in women and men start in the brain by paying attention to the biology involved in hormones, such as estrogen, cortisol and dopamine, affect a woman’s emotions and behaviors. The majority of the article talks about the contents approached in her new book “The Female Brain,” and the presumed heat she would encounter from her various other peers who believe that there is little support in that area. From the article:

“I know it’s not politically correct to say this,” [Brizendine] says, “and I’ve been torn for years between my politics and what science is telling us. But I believe that women actually perceive the world differently than men. If women attend to those differences, they can make better decisions about how to manage their lives.”

What do I think about this? I believe that those who are shouting “nuture before nature” are right. I also believe that those like Brizendine who are saying “nature has something to do with how women are wired differently than men” are also right. Throughout the article, I didn’t see not one affirming statement that gives the impression that Brizendine believes it’s all about nature. On the other hand, her peers, based on the statements given, are seemingly saying that it’s all about nurture. Personally, I’m interested in what Brizendine has to say and consider her to be on to something, no matter how miniscule the proof may seem. If someone can write a book that focuses on the “female-centered strain of psychiatry focusing on the complex interplay between women’s mental health, hard-wiring and brain chemistry,” then there is a good chance that something has been severely ignored over the years that she is aiming to bring to light; opening another passage of approaching the real issues of women’s emotions as they relate to the complexity of the brain. What really caught my eye was this statistic.

Women have 11 percent more neurons in the area of the brain devoted to emotions and memory. Because they have more “mirror neurons” they are also better at observing emotions in others, she says.

I know for a fact I can sense fluxuation in emotions in my friends and even people that I don’t fraternize with (that I’ve been around for a good period of time). Knowing that this doctor isn’t talking out of her ass causes me to not completely write off this methodology. Not that I was planning to completely write it off, but possibly have a doubt or two. Aside from the bland title of the book, which probably will be the main reason why people aren’t struck with curiosity at first glance, I plan on checking out this meganekko’s book.

Would you believe that I have no interest in science? This just struck my fancy bone.

// ::Meganekko-Tune Now Playing [ David Gray – White Ladder – “Please Forgive Me” ]:: \\

One thought on “Hormones Speak Louder Than Words

Share your thoughts below!

